Preston Hall estate is a tranquil, beautiful estate covered in remarkable trees, and has been in the Callendar family since purchased in 1789 (see also Callendar House) but the first house here dates to around 1700. The house was modified prior to the 1780’s after being bought by the widow of the 2nd Earl of Gordon in 1738 before being put up for sale. The house was in a parlous condition when acquired by the Callendars and subsequently demolished and rebuilt between 1791 and 1801. Yew planting is a feature of the estate and particularly along paths down to the river and small lake, just after entering the main entrance. Given the first house here dates to 1700, it is presumed the yew planting is post 1700, however, there is a yew near the house which, at first glance, appears to be an ancient relic, such is its spectacular form, size, and circumference at the root plate (40 feet/12 metres) and is remarkable to experience. However all is not as it seems, as the stems are all female and probably the result of early bifurcation due to predation. None have girths at 150 cm high greater than 300 cm. Storm damage has then taken a toll, giving it such a memorable form.