Dunglass castle was built in the 14th century by the Pepdie family and later passed by marriage to the Home’s. In 1516 it became the property of Archibald Douglas, Earl of Angus through forfeiture but then in 1532 and 1547 it was besieged and destroyed by English forces. By 1596 it had been somewhat restored and was visited by King James VI in 1596 and again in 1603 by which time it had been enlarged and rebuilt. However, it was destroyed by an explosion in 1640.
The Hall family came into possession of Dunglass in 1687 and they remained there until 1919 when it was sold to the Ushers. The grounds contain a 15th century collegiate church in the care of Historic Environment Scotland.
There are yews on the estate near to the church and probably the remnants of late 18th century ‘picturesque’ landscaping. Today Dunglass is a wedding and events venue.